Homestead Diary Week Ending June 3rd

IMAG0816

Little known fact: Amazon delivers rabbits (no, not really)

This week we harvested our first broccoli and strawberries. Yum! In fact, I’m writing this after the kids helped harvest a good handful of berries from the garden as I snapped some of the photos you’ll see below. We’re losing some to the robins and the slugs but there’s enough to share.

A bigger development this week is the arrival of two new rabbits, including our first buck. The buck has strong Rex looks to him, similar to one of our does. The other doe looks very much like a New Zealand Red, which is an excellent meat breed. For sure we are going to let the buck settle in for a week or two before breeding. I haven’t decided whether to try and breed before we go on vacation or wait until we get back.

Our doe "Caramel".

Our doe “Caramel”.

Our buck "Ice Cream"

Our buck “Ice Cream”

The rabbitry so far. I assembled the two new cages from ready-to-assemble kits (wire pieces are cut, just need to J-clip them together).

The rabbitry so far. I assembled the two new cages from ready-to-assemble kits (wire pieces are cut, just need to J-clip them together). I’ve never used J-clips before but they’re not too bad once you get the hang of it. 

These rabbits are also from Homestead Buddy. He’s decided he’s just done with rabbits. Another homesteading friend took a breeding pair and he kept two of the smaller rabbits neither of us wanted to eat. Part of our informal agreement is that we’d give him breeding stock if he ever decided to get back into rabbits in the future.

The day we were out there I planted tomatoes and numerous squash. I forgot to bring my camera so I’ll post pictures from that garden next week.

Another update is a pretty neat letterhead/business card design a friend helped me put together after I posted a mockup online. “Fat Robin Farms” isn’t much of a business yet but I thought I’d share this next development:

Fat Robin letterhead final

Here’s some more pictures:

Baby raspberries forming

Baby raspberries forming

First pea blossoms.

First pea blossoms.

May (and now June) have been very warm. Many of our pea plants look like this

May (and now June) have been very warm. Many of our pea plants look like this instead of the healthier plant pictured above. 

You know what that is ;)

You know what that is 😉

Sunflower.

Sunflower.

One of our best looking zucchini. Not all of them are this happy.

One of our best looking zucchini. Not all of them are this happy.

A few of our purchased tomatoes have started blooming. This is an Amish Paste, the others in bloom are Ramapos.

A few of our purchased tomatoes have started blooming. This is an Amish Paste, the others in bloom are Ramapos.

The frame of our coop, 100% scavenged lumber. I will have to buy a few materials to finish it, which is tentatively my Sunday project for next week.

The frame of our coop, 100% scavenged lumber. I will have to buy a few materials to finish it, which is tentatively my Sunday project for next week.

Leave a Reply

