Garden Quest 2015 #003 – Harvest

 

Mesclun awaiting the first cut. Background: spinach seedlings just getting first set of true leaves.

Mesclun awaiting the first cut. Background: spinach seedlings just getting first set of true leaves.

 

Let me tell you: it feels really, really weird to be harvesting something in February. Heck, if I took too long coming home from the store in the weather outside, any tender greens would be frostbitten.

Is it worth it? It’s too early to tell, but I doubt it will ever make true financial sense. Eyeballing what was in my salad spinner basket as enough for the Alchemist and I, I stopped cutting halfway through the tray at a net of 30 grams. Mesclun is designed to be a cut-and-come-again crop, so we’ll see what the total lifespan of the tray is over what time period.

Garden Quest 2015 003-02

But the most important question: how did it taste? I’ve nicked a delicious leaf here or there as the tray has grown in, so I’ve been cautiously excited about homegrown greens. I’m not sure if it’s because they were baby greens or the dry conditions of my basement, but the leaves were thin and feathery. They still had a crunch, but they were definitely lighter weight than lettuces I’ve had before. I’m no greens connoisseur, and often need to force myself to eat them, but I found them flavorfully bitter and they paired well with my simple 50:50 balsamic vinaigrette dressing.

More importantly, the nutrients in them made me feel quite good after eating the salad, and that’s the real reason we garden.

Leave a Reply

