Winter Hermitage

Winter can be a tough season for a gardener (or a parent) to deal with. There’s little to do outside, and any journeying requires the planning of an expedition’s worth of gear. We can fight this or we can release and go with the season.

Yesterday sickness forced me to rest. I think I was awake for less than 2 hours total, in fits and spurts of “Daddy I’m hungry” and knowledge that failing to do laundry would have us soon out of clean clothes. But even when I’m not sick, I’m discovering how much I like slowing down. Resting. Withdrawing. Reflecting in our small, cozy little hermitage we call home.

The Alchemist and I still have to leave and return for our jobs, for errands, and for exercise. The goblins leave for religious education on Sundays. And that’s about it. There’s no desire to see or do more. As I write this at my desk, they’re all sitting behind me at the folding table, using their wild imaginations. With good light coming from outside and that all-important ingredient of imagination, a space less than 200 feet square becomes ENORMOUS.

Spring brings (quite late, around here) asparagus, greens, rhubarb. Summer and fall bring the earth’s bounty. Winter brings what? Snow, ice, cold. Do we fight it with our modern technology, or do we dig in and let the seasons teach us something? Slow down. Withdraw. Recharge. Calling myself a hermit could be seen as a negative, but I embrace it.

What does winter teach you?

One Comment on “Winter Hermitage”

  1. AB says:

    Love this post! I have been trying to figure out why my body is so tired and I don’t have as much energy as I normally do. I even had a check-up to make sure I was ok physically. I guess it’s just time to slow down and enjoy the season. Thanks for the post!


Leave a Reply

