Recipe – Adios to Peanuts Nut Butter

Nut butter

For those (like me) who have peanut allergies* or who want a different taste, I’ve really come to like alternative nut butters. The most commonly available pre-made butter is almond butter, but I find the texture of commercial almond butter leaves a lot to be desired. Different brands have different tastes, many of them actually quite off-putting. Maybe you’ll find my recipe off-putting yourself, but after a few months of tweaking I’ve got something I’m quite happy to share.

Note: homemade nut butters are more prone to rancidity than commercial ones. I store this in half-pint jars, the active one in the fridge, the extra portions (depending on batch size) in the freezer. The olive oil added to the mixture helps keep this nice and spreadable even when refrigerated – another plus versus commercial butters, which are impossible to spread when cold.

  • 1 cup whole almonds
  • 1 cup roasted unsalted sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup flaxseed meal
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tsp sea salt, or to taste (I like it salty but even half this amount is enough to enhance flavor)

 

  1. Toast the almonds on a baking sheet at 350F for 15 minutes
  2. Add the toasted almonds (no need to let them cool) and remaining ingredients to a food processor or high-powered blender. (From what I’ve read, unless you have a super blender like a Vitamix, a food processor is your better bet. I have a $40 Hamilton Beach model that handles this task just fine.)
  3. Process on low speed until butter reaches desired consistency, scraping sides of the bowl as necessary. With my machine it takes 5-10 minutes.
  4. Enjoy it warm. Store in refrigerator for 1-2 weeks, or freezer for several months.

*Luckily mine isn’t severe, but when I was on an elimination diet years ago to understand my chronic health issues, peanuts are DEFINITELY a trigger for bad things in my system (mainly sinus congestion).

One Comment on “Recipe – Adios to Peanuts Nut Butter”

  1. […] (a handful of raw or toasted nuts makes a fantastic snack, and DIY nut butter is […]


Leave a Reply

