Master Recipes: 15 Minute Stovetop Granola

Last edit: 3-25-15

Try not eating this hot right out of the pan...

Try not eating this hot right out of the pan…

Granola is not hard, nor should it even take that much time. I owe this recipe to my sister, but I’ve lightly adapted it for my own ingredient preferences – and doubled the batch because my goblins can’t get enough of it. No more store bought cereal!

  • 8 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup olive oil (technically I use Costco’s Mediterranean Blend oil)
  • 2/3 cup honey
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • Nuts or dried fruits optional
  1. Preheat oven to 400F. Measure oats onto a rimmed 13×9 baking sheet (depending on your baking sheets, it might work best to use two sheets). If using nuts, toast along with the oats. Toast for 10 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, add the remaining ingredients to a 5 quart dutch oven. When the timer on the oven is down to 4 minutes, heat them over medium. Stir occasionally.
  3. When oats are done toasting, carefully pour into the pot and cook over medium, stirring constantly, for 3 minutes.
  4. If you want to add dried fruit, add in at this point (or wait until serving).
  5. Return granola mixture to the baking sheet to cool down.
  6. When completely cool, transfer to an airtight container. I usually use a gallon Ziploc bag so we can easily take this on bike rides for a hearty snack.

Variation: Adding 2 tsp cinnamon (possibly more, depending on the potency of your cinnamon) to the mix makes this granola even more addictive. I positively love the cinnamon granola mixed with applesauce, since yoghurt has not been kind to my tummy lately.

10 Comments on “Master Recipes: 15 Minute Stovetop Granola”

  1. jjmahoney007 says:

    Mary makes this all the time. The kids love it!

  2. […] and water. Granola works really well for […]

  3. JayP says:

    Just made up this recipe. This was really great for the kids – one especially who is a very picky eater! I added the cinnamon – and boy it is good, with no added sugar. I wonder if there is a way to make this into a bar form for snacks, travel, etc? Thanks for posting!

    • David says:

      Typically bars are made with some sort of nut butter as a binder. I haven’t tried making a bar version myself. If you do, please share!

  4. […] preferably in bar form – appetizing to the Alchemist. The goblins and I love my standard granola but honey is on my lovely wife’s hit list. Lacking honey, the second best sweetener option […]

  5. Carrie says:

    Why do you call this stovetop granola when it is baked in the oven and not cooked on the stove top? I recognize that there is stovetop time, but I generally assume a recipe labeled as such is exclusively stove top. Perhaps that is an erroneous assumption?

    It’s a very simple recipe. I’m used to germ of this and nut if that… Might have to try this just to see.

    • David says:

      The reason I decided to call it a stovetop granola is that, unlike most granolas I’ve seen, you’re not cooking the final mixture in the oven. The only thing you do in the oven is toast the oats to bring out their flavor.

      You could very easily toast the oats on the stovetop, but then you’d need two large pots instead of one pot plus a baking sheet. I haven’t tried it, but do it over medium heat, stirring constantly, until fragrant.

  6. Scott says:

    This is great! My kids are addicted to Harvest Crunch, which is fairly cheap at Costco but loaded with sugar so we’re looking for alternatives.

    I whipped up a batch of this granola yesterday afternoon and served it this morning and they _loved_ it!! I added the cinnamon as you suggested – very nice! Our Beta is allergic to walnuts, but other nuts are okay so I’ll experiment adding some nuts and seeds when this batch runs out.

    My wife is encouraging me to use the giant tub of coconut oil we picked up at Costco a while ago, so I’ll give your granola bars a try soon too.

    • David says:

      Scott, glad you like the recipe! If adding nuts or seeds, toast them along with the oats. I revised the recipe to reflect that, as originally I’d suggested adding nuts later. My kids (pun intended) are mixed about nuts, so I never add them.

      On the bars, you can use as little as 1/2 of the coconut oil it calls for and have them come out nicely, but I prefer the full amount. If the oil is unrefined, it adds a nice flavor, but even refined coconut oil tastes excellent.


Leave a Reply

