Leftovers as pizza topping

The wonderful cookbook/memoir An Everlasting Meal made me rethink leftovers. Instead of a warmed over version of the same exact dish, why not use leftovers as a component for a totally new dish?

Most weeks I do one giant pizza night, where I make 4 16″ pizzas to give us dinner for that night plus the next night. Usually I allot one of those pizzas as an “experimental” one.

Tonight’s used the last two portobella caps we had left and it was AMAZING.

Sex on a plate.

Sex on a plate.

8 Comments on “Leftovers as pizza topping”

  1. Everlasting Meal has been on my list of things to read! I’ll try to get to it soon. I’ve found that pizza is a good way to get my toddlers, especially the three-year-old, to try new things–he chose an orange pepper and a tomato at the store, for instance, then helped put them on the uncooked pizza, then ate it with gusto.

    Is your homemade pizza soggy in the middle? Mine always seems to be; prebaking the crust reduces the problem but does not eliminate it.

    • David says:

      I need to write up my recipe soon. What temp do you bake at? I bake at 500F – the hotter the better for pizza. Neapolitan style requires 1000F or thereabouts.

      I pre-bake for 4-5 minutes and (depending on toppings) bake for 7 minutes. Sauce very lightly.

      • Yeah, that sounds like what I do–500 degrees, prebake, etc. I’ve been using a regular round metal pan–some people swear by the oven stones or the pans with holes in them.

    • Higher temps definitely help. I did also break down years ago and get a pan with holes. It helps, but doesn’t make a huge difference.

      I find that the thinner you can get the crust combined with a high temp the less soggy things become. But at the end of the day… less sauce = crispier crust.

      I’m on the lookout for a garage-sale pizza stone. Seems like the thermal mass of that would also assist in crispier crust creation. Don’t want to drop $20 on it though. Either of you used a stone before?

      • David says:

        I hate using pizza stones in a standard oven. They take too long to reheat when I need to churn out 2 or more pizzas in under an hour. If you’re making just one, put it in the oven while you pre-heat. Consider experimenting with the broiler as well. You’ve got the hot stone conducting from underneath, and the close broiler element to quickly brown the toppings. (Just spitballing, not tried it myself.)

        In a wood-fired oven or grill insert they can work.

        Whatever you do, don’t cut the pizza on it. They are a real PITA to clean. I gave up on mine years ago.

      • I had one years ago that we used only for frozen pizza and reheating leftover Papa John’s. For those purposes, it was definitely better than a cookie sheet-style pan. It got left behind several moves ago, alas.

  2. The Concordian says:

    I recently bought a pizza stone from a local tile store. Not very frugal, but it makes great pizza, and it makes it fast! It’s 1.25″ thick, and 12″x18″ or so… probably 40 lbs or so. We used to make pizza on a cookie sheet, and it would take 20 min or so. So I would avoid making it. Now it only takes 4 if the crust is thin, and I love making pizza. The only downside is that I can’t take a super hot 40 lb stone out of the oven safely, so instead I roll it out a bit and use a pizza peel to put the pizza on and take it off.

    I thought about using a similarly shaped stone in my yard, but it wasn’t smooth or square, and just don’t have the time or energy right now to somehow hand-flatten a stone of unknown origin. But soapstone is workable with wood tools, so it can probably be done, if you can find a nice flat soapstone in your (or someone else’s.. offer them some pizza?) yard.

  3. Gero1369 says:

    I use a pizza stone and typically make store bought frozen pizzas on it, so take from this what you will. I preheat the stone and oven for a bit longer than I normally would without the stone. I actually cook tons of stuff on it including pizzas, fish sticks, and lots of other things. For cleaning, I simply use water and a scraper that came with it. I even simply use a spatula if I can’t locate the scraper, so cleanup is pretty easy. I don’t really think that germs are a problem with it because I always pre heat it before use and it’s a stone, germs don’t typically do well on stone.


Leave a Reply

