Grilled Portobella Caps with Balsamic Goat Cheese

IMAG0413

As long as I can remember, my Mom’s been making a dish where she pan roasts chicken breasts topped with an obscene amount of goat cheese, which is further topped with a balsamic vinegar reduction. When I was young, the flavor was too strong and I’d ask for one without (or with much less) cheese.

Last week my local grocer had a killer price on Portobella caps ($2.40/lb, or less than what white mushrooms have been going for). I ended up with a few too many, but remembered that there was a log of chevre rolling around in the fridge needing a home in our stomachs.

This is a bit too spur-of-the-moment to call it a recipe, but here’s what I used:

  • 10 ounces portobella caps, washed, stems removed.
  • 10 ounces goat cheese
  • balsamic vinegar, to taste
  • dried green onion (not present in the final flavor profile, but fresh green onions would be quite nice here)
  • pepper, to taste
  1. Mix cheese, vinegar, and pepper in a large bowl until you’re satisfied with the flavor profile.
  2. Gently spread the mixture on the caps (gills up).
  3. Grill over direct heat just until the caps start to collapse, remove to indirect heat until cheese is heated through.

IMAG0415

Don’t be afraid of direct heat. I’ve had mixed results grilling mushrooms in the past, so I went ultra cautious at first. I oiled the grates (not necessary) and started over indirect heat for a good 5 minutes with little progress. I inched each cap over. Over. They only started fully cooking, collapsing, and releasing the prodigious water all mushrooms have locked up when under full heat.

IMAG0414

Obviously you don’t want to dry them out, so move them away from the coals once the gills start watering up.

I enjoyed them with a salad of homegrown spinach (and a couple baby lettuce leaves picked for good measure), strawberries, and cucumbers with a freshly mixed balsamic vinaigrette to pair with the vinegar in the goat cheese. Hiding in the back is Dogfish Head’s interesting good-but-not-excellent IPA brewed with Syrah grape must.

IMAG0416

Any of you have favorite ways to use either portobellas or goat cheese?

6 Comments on “Grilled Portobella Caps with Balsamic Goat Cheese”

  1. I’ve never been fond of goats cheese but I do try it again and again, hoping my tastes will change. I do however love mushrooms and I often mix cream cheese with herbs, parmesan and other tasty bits to stuff into button mushrooms.

    Do goblins like goats cheese?

  2. […] used the last two portobella caps we had left and it was […]

  3. Ali says:

    Those look delicious!

  4. Gero1369 says:

    Looks like a tasty treat!


Leave a Reply

