Learning locavorism

The Alchemist took off from work today, so we have a rare day together. The weather is positively miserable, but we’re going to make fun nonetheless. A budget matinee followed by haircuts for her, and Goblins Alpha and Beta.

I’ve been quite busy around the homestead the past week. I’ve been reading Independence Days, a book about food storage techniques and cooking from pantry staples as much as possible. We’re a long way from ever feeding our family from our own land, but the idea of ‘putting up’ summer’s bounty while fresh (and cheap) appeals. Even if the price doesn’t always reflect it, living on as local of food sources as possible helps remove the hidden environmental cost of all the oil used in conventional food production. Conventional food requires 10 calories of oil for each calorie that reaches market. Local food uses considerably less oil, tastes fresher, and lasts longer in a fresh state.

Some of this will require learning canning and lactofermentation. I think I am going to save up for a freezer once we get the dryer out of the basement, since I prefer the tartness of frozen fruit over the sweetness of canned. Yes, frozen food is at risk during power outages and disasters, so I won’t completely rely on it, but the motto is “store what you eat”.

Only two weeks into farmer’s market season and I love making the pilgrimage. One particular grower is my favorite spot, as he has the best looking spinach (except my own small patch that’s starting to produce) and had some beautiful kale that I need to figure out how I’m going to use. (Yes, I bought kale. Who am I?) It’s hard to buy a ton when I’m on the bike, so when the season really gets swinging I may switch to doing it by car. We have so much produce in the fridge right now, it’s actually a bit overwhelming. I need to make sure it all gets used, or at least preserved!

Maybe I’ll take the goblins to the pick-your-own strawberry patches, even though they’re a bit of a gas-burning hike, but it could make for a cool early summer field trip. Being a locavore isn’t always cheap, but I think it’s rewarding.

Giving money to local growers instead of (partly) to large ag conglomerates is also appealing.

One Comment on “Learning locavorism”

  1. envisionhappy.com says:

    Try some Kale chips. My wife makes them and you won’t be able to put them down – taste better than potato chips. I think you just drizzle in olive oil and a little salt then bake.


Leave a Reply

