Garden Quest #1

IMAG0144

Today’s science lesson was getting out into the garden and planting some of the frost-sensitive plants. I’ve got limited prepared soil and no budget to build more raised beds, so we co-opted a bed that normally has decorative annual flowers planted in it. The goblins actually got quite into it.

First, I turned the dirt to loosen it up. In one half of the bed I made the “hills” for the cucumbers and gave them each a handful of seeds to poke into the dirt. Next we set and hoed the rows for green beans. They took care of the planting and covering up the rows. They also “helped” with the watering can. It’s a small effort so far, but they seem excited. I’m hoping it will click more as the plants actually start to bloom and fruit.

Our peas are about 2-3″ tall at this point. Our spinach is being pokey. I’ve only managed to spot one seedling so far. Worst-case, I’ll try to re-sow that area if we’ve still got nothing in a couple weeks. Our cherry tomatoes are small but we’re getting awfully close to solidly warm weather that I think I will risk it and transplant them now versus moving them into intermediate pots from the “jugs” I started them in. I think our Thai hot peppers have finally sprouted.

We biked over to Lowe’s to check out steel prices for Frankentrailer 2.0 If all goes to plan, I will be able to make it for <$100 of raw materials. While we were there, though, we picked out a few more seed packets: pumpkins, sunflowers, and basil. That pretty much exhausts what Lowe’s has that I’m interested in. I might check out some other stores, but the dedicated garden centers are not in terribly great biking areas, so I may go online to check out other things.

What are you growing this year?

5 Comments on “Garden Quest #1”

  1. First year I am actually growing anything put potatoes – tomatoes, cucumber, carrots, beets, radishes, beans, peas, lettuce… Fun!

  2. envisionhappy.com says:

    Tomatoes and potatos, which are easy. Also we are raising chickens. If you’re looking for something fun to do with the kids, this has been a hoot! We raised them from chicks, the kids love them and they are extremely entertaining. A little messy with the droppings, but not overly expensive to buy or keep. They are very hardy. I think we’ll have lots of eggs soon. We bought a chicken coop from Sams Club but they could be built yourself fairly easily. They free range but always come back to the coop.

    • David says:

      I’d love to do animals, but we’re in a small urban lot. I have not checked, but given the grief the city gave us over our compost bin, I doubt chickens are allowed.

  3. We planted our first garden this year – I have no idea what I’m doing! When I try to weed, I’m not 100% sure whether I’m pulling up weeds or the things I’ve planted! We planted kale, spinach, carrots, peas, and cucumbers which all seem to be doing okay, but I’m having a terrible time with the peppers that we planted! (2 types of bell peppers and jalepenos), they grow wonderfully indoors, but seem to die when I transplant them! Oh well, here’s hoping that we both have something to harvest this year! 🙂

    • David says:

      I really wish seed packets came with a picture of the seedlings. I’ve been doing a lot of Googling to make sure I don’t weed the plants I actually want.


Leave a Reply

