Nanowrimo 2013: Day 1

True to form, I’ve made another snap decision. This time, I jumped into National Novel Writing Month (Nanowrimo, Nano for even shorter shorthand) with less than 24 hours preparation!

For those of you unfamiliar with the basic concept of Nano, the goal is to write a 50,000 word draft novel in 30 days. I’ve written far more than 1,667 words in a single day before, but I’ve never been able to sustain that pace for an entire month. It’s a cool challenge, though, and one I’m hoping to “win” for the very first time this year, especially since it’s the writing equivalent of my favorite acronym – GOYA, or “Get Off Your Ass”. My main limitation is usually the one wrist I haven’t done carpal tunnel surgery on, and it’s already hurting some, but I’m hoping the built-in “posture changes” of having goblins underfoot will let me grit it through.

Issues of Sunset’s Apprentice may slow down some, but I don’t want to take a whole month off.

The novel I am writing for Nano takes place in the same universe as Apprentice but thousands of years earlier, and not on Nelara itself. Instead, I’m making my first serious attempt to write a story on one of the Grey Empire’s interstellar colonies, set very early after the first terraformers landed. So far it’s got a nice, rough-hewn-wood-houses-and-dusty-landscape-mixed-with-crazy-space-technology vibe that’s pretty cool.

My protagonist begins at thirteen ‘orbits’ old, and her name is Amelie Teresia ______ (working on the surname). She’s a little firecracker at this age but I don’t want to fall into the trap of the “overly strong” strong female protagonist. In a brief little story that never really went anywhere, she was going to be younger, only ten, because I originally invented her as a heroine for a “middle-grade” book that my little goblins could read with me. This is turning out more in the YA vein, but I definitely don’t want the heavily adult nature Sunset’s Apprentice takes on in later issues (at least in previous, unseen, drafts).

The tentative title Princess of Xainu.

Day 1 (Par is 1,667): 2,599

Leave a Reply

