Hack Your Thirst: 35 Calorie Natural Cherry Limeade

Cherry Limeade“Natural” sodas are gross. Yes, cane sugar is marginally healthier than high-fructose corn syrup. Yes, natural colors are better than artificial colors. But a pig with lipstick is still a pig.

When you eliminate non-natural sugar (i.e., sugar from ACTUAL food, such as fruits and sweet veggies, with MAYBE a dab of honey) you can never really go back to tolerating the poison that is 99% of the packaged beverage industry. The brand of soda is irrelevant, but the last time I tried a “natural” soda, I had a headache halfway through from the intense sugar dose, and would have thrown up if I finished the whole thing.

Ugh.

So this means a lifetime of boring water, right? No flavor at all?

Hah!

If you like citrus sodas, try out my natural cherry limeade. Not only is it PACKED with fruit flavor, but there’s no added sugar (and barely any sugar at all). Every time I drink this,  I feel refreshed and cleansed, not with gross teeth (diet soda) or gross stomach (regular soda).

Here’s what you’ll need:

Cherry Limeade Ingredients

  • 8-10 fluid ounces sparkling water (I drink a lot of this, so we invested in a SodaStream, which cuts cost in half versus even the cheapest bottled stuff even with the rather pricey official CO2)
  • 2 tbsp fresh lime juice or RealLime
  • 2 fluid ounces (1/4 cup) Montmorency (sour) Cherry Juice –> This is the only source of calories in the drink, and only 35 of them for a delicious beverage.

Pour into a tall glass over a couple ice cubes and enjoy!

One Comment on “Hack Your Thirst: 35 Calorie Natural Cherry Limeade”

  1. Gero1369 says:

    I’ve been enjoying much more water and tea (as a coffee substitute; Republic of Tea, Irish or British Breakfast tea). I’ve also been using my tea bags at least twice. The tea canisters are $9-10 with 50 bags. I go through one or two a day while at work. If I get bored with water, I have a canister of Gatorade powder that I have handy. It’s something like $12-15 for a monster ~9″ diameter, 6″ tall canister and it lasts forever. When I was actually using it on a consistent basis, it lasted a good two or three months. A teaspoon or tablespoon for a 16-24 oz serving was more than enough. More water is better though and I haven’t touched the canister in more than a year.


Leave a Reply

